Essential Early Education

Orange East Supervisory Union early childhood special education services are integrated into our Early Childhood Program whenever possible. This model provides the opportunity for students with diverse needs to play and develop together. Early Childhood Special Educators identify children with developmental challenges and provide child-centered early childhood special education services. These services allow children to participate in typical early childhood activities to the best of their abilities, to reach their full learning potential, and to prepare them for the next learning environment.

 

Screenings and Evaluations

If your child is under the age of 5 and you are concerned about his/her development, please contact the Orange East Supervisory Union at 802-222-5216 ext. 123 to set up a screening for your child.

 

Eligibility:

To qualify for Special Education services:

  1. A child must show a delay in one of the following developmental areas: speech, language, personal social, adaptive, fine or gross motor skills and/or cognitive skills. Children who demonstrate a delay are eligible for services and an Individual Education Plan (IEP) is developed to meet their needs; and/or
  2. Children who have a medical condition diagnosed by a physician that poses a high probability of a developmental delay before entering kindergarten are eligible for services.
  3. Children who are identified by Children’s Integrated Services and have at least a 25% delay in one area may potentially be eligible by the time they reach their third birthday are also eligible for services.

 

Our Early Essential Education Educators

  • Sharon Beaufait, Special educator, sbeaufait@oesu.org
  • Amy Fahey, Special Educator, afahey@oesu.org
  • Marla Ianello, Early Childhood Director, mianello@oesu.org
  • Birdi Kaplow, Special Educator, rkaplow@oesu.org
  • Alison Kidder, Director of Student Services, akidder@oesu.org
  • Erin Pelligrino, Special educator, epellegrino@oesu.org
  • Sandra Stanley, Interim Superintendent, sstanley@oesu.org

 

Did You Know?

Watch a great video that highlights current understanding about the development of our brains and the way we as humans acquire new skills and abilities: Michael Merzenich: Growing evidence of brain plasticity